Cupcake pans: Not just for cupcakes!

First of all, I’ve been looking for a good stuffed pepper recipe forever!  But I’m picky, and I didn’t want anything that had beef in it, or anything made with taco seasoning.  I found a recipe that used chicken and marinara sauce online at campbellskitchen.com, and it looked good.  What I like about that site is that there are always a lot of user comments from those who have tried the recipe including suggestions on how to make the recipe better!  Anyways, I didn’t have a casserole dish, and although I sliced the bottom of the peppers to flatten and make them stand better, I was worried they would fall over if I cooked them on a cookie sheet. 

I checked the cabinet to see if I could find a better solution… 

Image

An extra large cupcake pan!  It held them up perfectly during cooking, and makes it easier to stuff them because they don’t have much room to move/fall over.

Here is my adjusted recipe based on adding rice to make them even more filling and including enough ingredients for 6 peppers instead of 4:

 

6 sweet peppers (red, orange, yellow)

2 tablespoons vegetable oil

1 medium yellow onion, diced

garlic powder or garlic and herb shaker to taste (I rarely use real garlic- too lazy)

2 cups diced cooked chicken (I buy a rotisserie from the grocery store- again, lazy)

1 1/4 cup Prego Marinara Italian Sauce

1 cup shredded monterey cheddar cheese

1 package of Uncle Ben’s microwavable whole grain brown rice (prepared)

sea salt and fresh ground pepper to taste

 

1.  Heat oven to 375F.  Heat oil in a skillet over med-high  Add onion and garlic powder and cook until tender.  

2.  Meanwhile, cut the tops off of the peppers and save them.  Remove and discard the seeds from the peppers.  Place the peppers in the cupcake pan.

3.  Combine the following in a bowl:  onion mixture, chicken, sauce, rice, cheese, and salt/pepper.  Spoon the chicken mixture into the peppers and replace pepper tops. 

4. Bake for 40 minutes. 

 

They make great leftovers the next day!  

Leave a Reply

